Noble Experiment

Entrepreneur. Cocktail and spirit champion. Old world wine provocateur.

Pow Wow Botanical Rye

I’ve been on a slight hiatus due to a move to Philadelphia, but I’m back and i’m making cocktails again like they are going out of style. On my most reent quest to find something delicious, I came across this, a 100% rye whiskey infused with botanicals. Matt, the spirits master at my former local liquor store, told me that this is basically a mashup of rye and gin, so it was a must try. How could I say no?

20130427-002022.jpg

It had been a while since I had a 100% rye whiskey and i remember now why I love it so much. So much aggressive spice on the front, with a mellow and lingering toast on the finish. Rye is a complex beast and I like it.

Pow Wow is a unique rye whiskey and I enjoyed it a lot. It is loaded with spicy rye notes and has some interesting citrus based aromatics. It finishes long and a little bitter, leaving a lasting impression. I had hoped for a little bit more character from the botanicals, but they were pretty mellow and stayed in the background. At the end of the day, I found this to be a really delicious rye whiskey with some citrus notes, but not a groundbreaking botanical infusion. But I like it a lot as a rye.

For a cocktail, I think it is perfect for an Old Fashioned. It has enought character to stand on its own, but it can benefit from the complexity of the bitters. So, do this.

2 oz Pow Wow Rye
1/4 oz simple syrup
1 dash orange bitters
1 dash angostura bitters
Garnish with an orange pee

2 comments on “Pow Wow Botanical Rye

  1. Eric
    May 29, 2013

    Great to see that you are still bringing the old fashion back into fashion. Looking for your next chartreuse or st Germaine concoction

    • Dave McCabe
      June 3, 2013

      There will be many more St Germain and Chartruese cocktails, maybe some with both!

Tell me what you think.

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2013 by in Cocktail, Liqueur and tagged , .
