Noble Experiment

Entrepreneur. Cocktail and spirit champion. Old world wine provocateur.

New Beers Coming to MD

Word on the street is that we have a lot of new breweries finding their way to MD. Everyone already knows about New Belgium, although I can’t say I’m thrilled about their rollout plan with only 22oz bottles for the first six months. And, in addition, I’m not too happy about their choice of Katcef as their distributor in Anne Arundel County. You would think (or hope) that a brewery like New Belgium, with roots in the craft movement, would want to support the distributors who support craft brewers. But at the end of the day, it’s all about the money. I get it. Go with Katcef and get Fat Tire distributed to every store that carries Bud Light, which is every god damn store in Anne Arundel County.

But I’m not here to write about New Belgium. I wanted to let you in on the rumor mill which is swirling around ANP. Now, remember, that this is all speculation! Nothing has been confirmed to me, nothing is gospel, nothing is 100% certain or set in stone. So if it doesn’t happen, don’t come crying back to me. But here’s what I hear is making its way down to us.

Sixpoint out of Brooklyn, NY (via Craiglist ad for a sales rep)

Maui Brewing Company

Pretty Things Beer and Ale Project  (gypsy brewer out of Mass)

Alaskan Brewing Company

Firestone Walker

 

Some of these have already been reported by other great local bloggers, but I think there may be some new additions to the list.

Tell me what you think.

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2011 by in Beer, Distribution, Maryland and tagged , .
