Noble Experiment

Entrepreneur. Cocktail and spirit champion. Old world wine provocateur.

A Few Pics From Yesterday’s Brewday

I’ve worked up a new pale ale recipe that uses a good chunk of rye in addition to pale ale malt and a light crystal malt.  The goal of the malt bill was to get a pale ale that is light in color with a bit of spiciness. For my hop choices, I wanted to go citrusy, not piney.  I like citrus in my pale ales, pine in my IPAs.  That’s certainly not a hard and fast rule, just where my head is as of now.

I went with a Wyeast American Ale smack pack.  A pretty safe bet for a drinkable pale ale.  My original gravity came in at 1.070 (target was 1.073) which will probably put this beer somewhere in the 7% abv range.   You can see I used Sorachi Ace and Citra hops.  Sorachi Ace is a Japanese hop originally developed by the Sapporo brewery.  It has strong lemon and citrus flavors and is typically used in saisons.  But I thought it would be an interesting addition.  The citra is best known for its use in Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPA.  It’s a really fragrant and aromatic hop and it seemed like a good finisher.

Here is my homemade mash tun which has been working well.  I mashed in at 154 and after 60 minutes the temp was at 150.  So it has pretty good heat retention and that new plumbing valve I stuck on it doesn’t leak.

Stay tuned for more information on this beer.  Fermentation has started and I’ll have my first real taste in a few weeks.

3 comments on “A Few Pics From Yesterday’s Brewday

  1. luskanrumline
    March 10, 2011

    great glad it turned out ok!
    its nearly warm enough for me to start first brew of the year

  2. luskanrumline
    February 18, 2011

    exciting stuff! Got to love good ale, very envious of your brew set up, would love to have the kit to brew properly and I hope one day to be able to afford to graduate from basic supermarket ‘home brew kit’ from a tin, to proper ingredients based customisable brewing. I have an inspiring friend who brews mead among other things…

    Best of luck with your brew, I hope it turns out how you want it!

    • AnnapolisDrinks
      February 24, 2011

      Thanks! I just bottled it today and its looking pretty good! I’ll have a better idea in a week or so once i get some carbonation. Thanks for reading!

Tell me what you think.

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2011 by in Beer, Homebrew, Made From Scratch and tagged , , , , , .
