Noble Experiment

Entrepreneur. Cocktail and spirit champion. Old world wine provocateur.

Bell’s Hopslam Ale

Well, I finally got my hands on some Hopslam.  It seems as though every time I go somewhere that has Hopslam I get there five minutes after the last keg, cask or bottle is gone.  It’s been elusive in the years past.  But this year I snagged myself a six-pack.  It wasn’t cheap, that’s for certain.  I paid $27 for a six-pack at Whole Foods on P St., but I had to grab it, at least to give it a shot.

For those of you who don’t know, Hopslam is a seasonal release from Bell’s Brewery in Michigan.  It’s a 10% ABV hop monster that is brewed with honey.  When it comes out, it’s a mad rush to get it.  Whole Foods has a single six-pack limit per customer and when the bars grab kegs, the lines are around the block.

Hopslam has a huge citrus and grapefruit hop aroma right off the bat.  It smells fresh and piney and wonderful.  It pours a golden straw color in the glass and looks deceptively light.  I don’t find it to be overly bitter, but it doesn’t lose that hop flavor or aroma.  There seem to be a lot of finishing hops in this beer and probably a lot of dry hopping going on.  It finishes with a bit of sweetness, probably due in part to the honey, and a really rich mouthfeel (also probably due in part to the honey).  Any bitterness that exists comes out in the end, but only briefly.

I have to say, it’s pretty delicious and Hopslam is certainly worth seeking out.  But the next time I have $30, I might save myself the trouble and buy two six packs of Nugget Nectar from Troegs.

Tell me what you think.

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2011 by in Beer, Product Review and tagged , , , .
